History aa

History of the Tour of Britain

The event dates back to the first British stage races held just after the Second World War. A number of different events have been referred to as the Tour of Britain, including the Milk Race, the Kellogg's Tour of Britain and the PruTour.

After running from 1945-1999, the Tour of Britain was revived in 2004 by SweetSpot Group, and is part of the UCI Europe Tour. After a five-year absence from Britain's sporting calendar, The Tour of Britain is now a cornerstone of the sporting year and is the UK's premier cycling event.


2004 - Mauricio Ardila (COL) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf

2005 - Nick Nuyens (BEL) Quick Step-Innergetic

2006 - Martin Pedersen (DEN) Team CSC

2007 - Roman Feillu (FRA) Agritubel

2008 - Geoffroy Lequatre (FRA) Agritubel

2009 - Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) Team Columbia-HTC

2010 - Michael Albisini (SUI) Team HTC-Columbia

2011 - Lars Boom (NED) Rabobank

2012 - Jonathan Tiernan-Locke (GBR) Endura Racing Nathan Haas (AUS) Garmin-Sharp

2013 - Bradley Wiggins (GBR) Team Sky

2014 - Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Garmin Sharp

2015 - Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN Qhubeka

Bradley Wiggins in yellow at the 2013 Tour of Britain

Hors Categorie

In February 2014, the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) confirmed that the Tour of Britain would be awarded Hors Categorie status, elevating it into the same league as the likes of Criterium Internationale and the Tour of California.


Return to the Tour of Britain.